top of page
Buscar
Foto del escritorMayte Franco

Liz Espinoza: «Teachers and students are still human beings.»

How does it feel to be the head of the English Area for three years now?

Undoubtedly, it has been such an amazing experience. It’s a huge responsibility which I’m so honoured and glad to work in. To be in charge of the job development of other colleagues, and also of important details and decisions of the area related to students and parents, is a daily challenge that still teaches me a lot.



What are some improvements the department has had these past few years?

Firstly, I’m so proud to confirm that UEMS is a Cambridge English School (CES), this is a recognition that less than ten schools in Ecuador have. We’ve been using Cambridge materials and prepared students to take international Cambridge proficiency certifications since 2012, so it means that more than one thousand of our students have been certified so far.

Secondly, it’s important to know that Français has been added as another language that is taught in Mariscal Sucre since 2016. Nowadays, students from 4th to 7th basic have it as part of their curriculum.

Finally, I’m happy to mention that in the last scholar year, nineteen secondary students and one teacher travelled one month to Plymouth, United Kingdom; as part of an exchange program we were invited to.


When did you realize you wanted to become an English teacher?

Believe it or not, it was since the very beginning of my senior year at school. I was starting the third year of baccalaureate, and my minor was Physics and Maths. Even though the education field was always in my mind because my mom, some uncles, aunts, cousins, and even my grandma are educators with different specializations.

As I was preparing for the ESPOL admission exam, I noticed I had another great preference, I had a crush on English. I truly loved it and still do! I had the marvelous opportunity to receive half of my classes in English during school. That is why I started to search for information in different universities, and I found my Bachelor degree in English language with a minor in Management in Bilingual Education.


What do you enjoy most about teaching English at UEMS?

I really enjoy several things, but something that I know I’ll keep in my heart after 8 years working here, is how warm people can be, and I’m referring to students, parents, authorities, teachers and other collaborators. Of course, it hasn’t been all rough, but I frankly consider Mariscal Sucre as my second home. I cannot be less than grateful to UEMS.


What’s your position regarding the implementation of ICT in the student’s learning environment?

I consider myself as a true defender of the fusion of education with digital resources, we’re facing a completely different generation of students and it’s illogical to think about using the same teaching methods we were taught as kids.

Despite that, it is necessary to keep a balance...Teachers and students are still human beings, so the development of skills without technological tools, the consideration of their feelings, needs, and even the resting time, should always be taken into account.


During this pandemic, how has the department adjusted to the use of technological tools?

We are fully involved in giving online sessions and asynchronous activities as good as we can. We’ve tried to keep the training and assessment in the basic skills as much as possible. For instance, as we’re not having plenty of time to keep a record of individual speaking tasks, besides synchronous sessions, we’re currently using Flipgrid which is a social learning platform that allows educators to ask a question, then the students respond in a video.



What do you think is the key to the effective learning of another language, like English?

The acquisition of a foreign language helps you broaden the perspective of many things, because of the exposure to a different culture. Personally, I consider that a key element of the language learning process is the amount of input you are exposed to. As the second element of the process, it can be considered the output, that is the production, speaking or writing, in the new language. Finally, allow yourself to make mistakes, receive feedback and make corrections. Practice makes perfect!



9 visualizaciones0 comentarios

Comments


Publicar: Blog2 Post
bottom of page